Blue Sky

August 10, 2008 § 4 Comments

I know the title breaks my rules of one word titles (with exception of the word “the” as seen in the post below) but I think I’ll have to eventually. “Wave” was a candidate for this piece, but sounded so boring.

Loading

With real DoF and everything!

Exactly 5 minute render (including DoF processing) at 5 sample AA. Interestingly enough, the render without any AA was exactly 1 minute and 8 seconds (DoF included, as well as all other effects)

I always knew AA was expensive (time is money) but it looks soooo good! Oversampling, cruel mistress.

And a similar version with different HDRi and DoF distance:

Loading

You'll recognize the HDRi, probably.

§ 4 Responses to Blue Sky

  • †EV† says:

    If I was to choose between the first or second, I’d choose….hmm…. Well…

    1. The first image has a blur in front, and I like the sharp background.
    2. The Second Image has a Gloss, and I love gloss…

    So, I’d say mix those two, and I’d like the middle. 🙂

  • icecalibre says:

    That would be… different.

    Typically (and not to discount your idea in any way) DOF blur (the effect of having something in focus and the rest blurry) is either really close or really far, and the middle doesn’t make for good photography (or CG, in this case)

    But thanks

  • †EV† says:

    Haha
    I meant leave focus in back, and add the gloss. 😉

  • icecalibre says:

    Ah, I see what you mean…

    Well, since they are so easy to make I’ll make one just for you. Check this entry some time soon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blue Sky at IceCalibre.

meta