4/365 :: the essay due yesterday

January 12, 2010 § 7 Comments

Nothing terribly amazing. I’m busy doing homework.

I do like the bokeh up in the top.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to 4/365 :: the essay due yesterday

  • Scott Axel says:

    .. you and your white balance ..

  • toby says:

    I love the tilt shift on the side photos.

  • icecalibre says:

    Thanks Toby, good to see you around. I didn’t want to be the over-commenting creeper on the other blogs until they commented on mine.

    And I really had fun doing those tilt shifts of the town, that made my summer.

  • dirk says:

    Is this just white balance to get this color?

    I have the impression that you like a vintage look. Have you ever considered using vintage equipment?

  • icecalibre says:

    It’s a combination of a couple of things.

    You can get really close (like, 90%) with pure in camera settings. (just how you use ISO, white balance and colour settings) the rest is a little bit of photoshop. Vignette and things don’t really happen with modern lenses.

    I have a collection of vintage Canon lenses but no camera. I might get around to finding one eventually. I dunno, the whole film concept seems like a whole lot of work for something I can fake digitally.

    I’d love to buy a cheap lomo / holga camera just for the fun of it.

  • dirk says:

    you’re probably right. especially coloured photos in the dark room are pretty hard to do. i have the opportunity now to try some analog things and develop myself. i don’t know if i’ll like it. i do know that i’m not the biggest fan of digital manipulation. But you’ll see my progress the coming year of course! i’m just trying things out at the moment and we’ll see where it will take me…

    canon should have followed nikon’s example and kept its fitting!

    something like this?
    http://microsites.lomography.com/diana/theory/galleries

  • icecalibre says:

    I’m a digital artist first and a photographer second, but I really appreciate “real” and “pure” photography. I don’t like to digitally edit anything more than I have to.

    And even then, I see it as two art forms: photography and some kind of collage art thing, where the application of digital effects becomes the art, not the photo itself.

    I love that gallery.

    We’re all learning, that’s why we’re doing this.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 4/365 :: the essay due yesterday at IceCalibre.

meta