Blast from the Past, a re-render

March 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

Back in 2008 I made this simple model as a test of subsurf and torus modeling. I was learning a lot about Blender in those days, I wish I blogged it all or made some record; it was a crazy learning curve.

Here’s the old blog post: https://icecalibre.wordpress.com/2008/07/30/jell-o/

Here’s a render I did this morning using yafaray and HDRi – IBL lighting information (again, not going overboard, trying to get similar render times. AA and caustic detail suffer, of course)

Interesting test, anyway. If I had more render time I would have also added some bloom on the specular highlights and a little bit of DoF (nothing adds realism like depth of field. It’s crazy how it effects)

Ah well, just thought I’d share the memory. Looking back on it, I’m actually impressed with myself two years ago. I figured out the soft-sampled area lights in the internal renderer, that was cool.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blast from the Past, a re-render at IceCalibre.

meta