114/365 :: Little House on the Prairie

May 2, 2010 § 5 Comments

3

Getting tired of this set yet? I’m dragging it far out, I realize, but for lack of new material it’s better than nothing.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to 114/365 :: Little House on the Prairie

  • dirk says:

    a change of style in yout blog and photography! it’s a bit getting used to both of them!
    the shots are good and i understand your goal with these. happy travelling on that road 🙂

  • Brennan says:

    Thanks?

    I’ll take it for a good thing. I don’t think it’s healthy artistically to get too comfortable in a particular style; once you have a formula for your work, it’s not really “art” anymore, in my opinion… when it’s just something you produce without any spark.

    So, at the very least I’m trying it and seeing where it takes me.

    As always, critique is definitely welcome.

  • Scott Axel says:

    I’ve enjoyed the change in your style… keep sending them!

  • dirk says:

    From your older work, i could say: ‘this is one from Brennan’ but with these up till now, I don’t. It’s like I’ve seen them before somewhere. But a new path goes through familiar territory. I believe that one can’t be a good artist without the proper skills. Photography is an art but also a craft and these are excellent technically but they don’t speak to me like art should do (or as you put it: no spark (yet)). I can’t wait to see where it leads you to!
    ok?

  • Brennan says:

    Okay!

    I definitely understand where you’re coming from, it’s similar to what I think of myself right now. I won’t ever say that these are brilliant, but I can’t expect to be doing something fantastic new right off the bat. It’s a process and eventually I will arrive somewhere, perhaps where I started with my older stuff.

    The other difference is my signature vintage warm colours are absent in B&W photos, so it’s a different image style not only subject composition.

    I think I’m going to go out right now and shoot the snow and fog plaguing our supposed spring weather.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 114/365 :: Little House on the Prairie at IceCalibre.

meta