My Favorite Piece (sculptural) of Art

May 24, 2010 § 4 Comments

It’s interesting to limit yourself to just one. Really, there are so many things in so many styles that I love and inspire me. But, if I had to choose one piece of physical, sculptural art it would definitely be by Damien Hirst.

I’m not particularly fond of him as a person, but this one piece is just fantastic. I don’t really know why, but I could sit and stare at it for hours. Actually, one time when I was very young my parents brought me a little scorpion encased in plexy from Mexico or somewhere. It’s kind of the same thing, just much bigger.

The Physical Impossibility of Death in the Mind of Someone Living is the official title and it’s so fitting. I keep expecting for it to move or swim or do something, but it can’t; it’s dead.

This goes back to my other rants, probably. I just love art that implies so much more than what it actually, physically is. I mean, it’s just a shark that washed up on a beach and was put in jell-o. Is that the point? hardly. It gives the impression of moving. That’s the genius.

Related (and I’ll make a post for it later) my favorite piece of kinetic sculptural art.

§ 4 Responses to My Favorite Piece (sculptural) of Art

  • dirk says:

    It’s a controversial piece. That seems to be typical for a work that sets a mark. It’s a pity he didn’t take care of the preservation very well. It’s allready the second shark in the tank. Both of them were caught by the way…

    I’m not very familiar with contemporary art, but I’m ‘working’ on that more or less. I’m planning a trip to Amsterdam where probably one my favourite pieces is on display: Malevich’s Black Square. I saw it for the first time in Paris a few years ago; so pure and simple…

    I’ve never seen this one. It’s on display in NY at the moment, is it worth the trouble?

  • Brennan says:

    To be honest, I’ve never seen it live. Living the prairies of Canada is unfortunate for that, we rarely get anything of interest (although I’ve seen many a gallery featuring poorly painted prairie scenes (which honestly have to be the most boring subject matter ever))

    I imagine Europe would be a lot better for that sort of thing. The Black Square is indeed really cool.

  • dirk says:

    Distance is much different in Canada for sure… Paris and London aren’t that far at all from where I live, but I haven’t been there nearly enough. Amsterdam would be my first (and it’s about 300kms).
    Maybe you should take some vacation and travel around a bit. Work your way through history: Rome, Florence, Paris, London, Berlin, Saint Petersburg. And a stop-over in Belgium of course, the crossroads of it all 😉

  • Brennan says:

    Heh, yeah, that’d be great!

    Sadly, my student budget doesn’t allow for such great excursions.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favorite Piece (sculptural) of Art at IceCalibre.

meta