Music Monday #1

October 18, 2010 § 2 Comments

One question I get frequently from people is “What kind of music do you listen to when you work?”

The answer is ambiguous, really: almost everything. Except country my playlists and library represent just about every music style that I know of to some extent. Now I’m not saying my way is particularly best or “right” but it answers the “What does Brennan Letkeman listen to” question, sort of. Everyone is different, of course, and mood plays a big part into my selection, but I want to give suggestions every so often (every week!) for things new and old that I’ve come across and like.

Week 1: Tame Impala.

It’s just shoegaze enough to be out of the way (I can’t concentrate sometimes if things are too lyrically dominant) but upbeat enough to not put you to sleep and keeps a good work rhythm . I found it via ISO50 blog, and if it’s good enough for them…

Personal favorite song: Alter Ego

Go check them out!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Music Monday #1

  • Karl says:

    ISO50 is a great blog. I don’t know about Tame Impala but I’ve known about Tycho for a long time, it’s great music. You really get a feel for what type of people they are in the blog through their design, their t-shirts, heck Tycho’s music is effectively an audio representation of the style. When I hear it I can draw the same graphical patterns.

    I love that artwork by the way, really nice stuff.


    a couple of my favourites.

  • Brennan says:

    BoC! They’re on my list for a mention some monday, eventually. Tycho is definitely always on repeat here. Those pure bass notes, mmm.

    Personal favorite from Tycho is A Circular Reeducation (Ft. Jianda)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAoLaE-QkJ0 (the youtube version doesn’t do it justice being all compressed and junk)

    I totally agree, it’s a really remarkable thing to be… branded?… like that. A few different guys with one style that comes out in so many different mediums is unique and personally envied.

    I don’t need to “make it big”, but it would be cool to be one of those names that comes up in some random conversation and people are like “Yeah, I really dig his work.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Music Monday #1 at IceCalibre.

meta