EXIT

December 14, 2010 § 2 Comments

I don’t remember if I posted these before or not. They’re actually really old and I had forgotten about them until now.

See (and appreciate!) the whole set on Behance.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to EXIT

  • Karl says:

    This is quite unrelated (read: totally) but I was musing a few things the other day and I was wondering what you thought.

    Do you consider yourself an “artist” considering the connotations surrounding the word? does it define you and your interests effectively?

    • Brennan says:

      Haha, it’s something I muse quite often, actually.

      I’ve spent most of my time fighting it, I don’t think I want to be an “artist”. My conception of them being ‘those who contribute very little to society’, but after doing my interns in web design and schooling and such I’ve come to know art very intimately, for better or worse.

      On the other hand, I am a designer. I create things. I strive for beautiful things, but not at the cost of usability. Perhaps it’s just my minimalism shining through but I look at some of the design today and I wonder why they made the decisions they did; why did it come out looking like that? Often they have unnecessary adornment and it looks (to me) gaudy and ‘wrong’. Of course, it’s in the eye of the beholder.

      It seems like sometimes things are designed for art’s sake, that is, nothing is really added or enhanced, but some guy was trying to make a style or point. I’m not sure I entirely agree with that, honestly, I think that although these style choices are important, there is an underlying perfect form for something and sometimes you mess that up trying to be “stylish”.

      I align myself heavily with Dieter Rams and Braun in that I’m not against a beautiful world, of course things can’t all be cold and impersonal tools, just mere objects; but also that I see fashion (be it in any medium) is often wasteful (see: perfectly good dvd players that get thrown out because they’re silver, not black like the rest of the HT stack)

      So, short of writing a book on my internal debate, I guess I have to be a bit snide in my short answer:

      I’m not an artist; I’m a designer.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading EXIT at IceCalibre.

meta