A Most Beautiful Design

February 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

I know I promised I’d try to avoid reposting things that comes out on the same day as other blogs, but I have to say, this is definitely an exception.

This is exactly what I want everything I own to look like. It’s another from the makers of the beautiful Monome.

Elegant. Simple. Crisp. Flowing. Organic. Machined. Modern. Perfect. Care. Attention. Love. Design.

This, this I believe is what Dieter Rams means when he says good design is honest. It’s not cheap, or cheating or corners cut (no pun intended). It’s a solid product (albeit with a solid price tag) that is exactly what it needs to be.

And so I pledge, as I always do when inspired by such things, to carry this on into my product design.

Oh, and it makes music: Vimeo. Check out how slick that user interface is. It’s got a sort of Apple-like physics to how the LEDs ‘accelerate’ when the user changes something.

Also, happy Jules Verne’s birthday!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Most Beautiful Design at IceCalibre.

meta