Longboarding!

March 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

Spring is in the air and the snow is melting, making fantastic lakes out of the roads. I took the board out yesterday and enjoyed the sun, although the paths aren’t in perfect shape just yet (mud!) it was still really refreshing to go out and be cruising.

Right now I’m riding a Sector 9 Burleigh deck (with custom hardware) which is a drop through speed / carving deck and I love it to death, but I saw a few pintails the other day and I keep thinking about something shorter and quick (like the Ala Moana pictured above) for shorter carving. The Ala Moana is bamboo like the Burleigh which has a fantastic ride and the perfect amount of flex for my casual ride style.

I might also like something with some space on the back for dropping curbs and things (which the dropthrough Burleigh doesn’t like at all) so I’m keeping my eyes open.

The Race Forms I’m riding now seem like perfect wheels, so I’ll probably pick up another pair of those or maybe a little softer (the red ones pictured above are S9’s cheap nineballs @ 80A so that might work) than my 82A yellows.

In any event, I declare riding season officially on!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Longboarding!

  • Karl says:

    The weather around here is getting really nice as well, I have everything i need including hill drops and smooth roads, but no money.. I’d love to get an Original pintail if I could, just really want to carve up a street while listening to Tycho or something, haha

    • Brennan says:

      Definitely!

      Tycho is on my boarding playlist, along with Com Truise, Matt & Kim, Tame Impala, Best Coast… all those flowing summertime greats that remind me of sunsets and ocean breezes. Ah summer!

      The Original 43 pintail would for sure be on my list of eventual ownership – with some orange 80a 75mm Orangatang In Heats? Mmm, it’d be a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Longboarding! at IceCalibre.

meta